Greek Yogurt

A bowl of granola.

Image via Wikipedia

While filing some paperwork at the Circuit Clerk’s office. Which is a task that I do throughout my work day, I noticed that they were eating Yogurt. As a foodie I could not help but ask them about it. The girls in the office politely offered me some. As I went to the fridge to get a cup, I noticed this was not the standard yogurt I was used to. It was made my the Dannon company and was in a blue container. In big white letters on the side it said Greek Yogurt. I asked the girls why they bought this brand and type of yogurt. They said it seemed to have more nutrients in it. I have not done any research to confirm or deny this fact, but what I can say it was delicious. I tried the strawberry flavor. As I mixed the fruit in the bottom of the cup and the yogurt on the top, I noticed the aromatics were pleasing. While mixing one them chimed in “you should mix granola in with it, we have some here”. That was a great idea I thought. So I proceeded to mix in the granola. I must say the first bite was a moment of sheer joy and delight. I first noticed that the texture of the yogurt was thicker than the yogurt I was used to. I liked this very much. With the granola added in the texture was spot on with what I had been looking for in a good yogurt all this time. I didn’t realize what I had been missing. As I devoured that cup enjoying every last spoonful of smooth, creamy, fruity, goodness. I realized not only was the texture great, the yogurt and granola a great match up. It seemed the fruit was fresh and tasty. It didn’t have that grocery freezer quality about it. No, it seemed to take me right to the strawberry farm where it was picked. I was able to finish out the rest of my workday with a smile on my face and a new-found taste on a familiar classic.

2 thoughts on “Greek Yogurt

  1. Pingback: Semen Tainted Yogurt? | Diesel On Life

  2. Greek yogurt has more protein, too. You can use in to replace buttermilk in some recipes and you can make a pretty awesome cheesecake out of it. You have discovered a gold mine of health! Lots of recipes online.

Leave a comment