Sweet Potato Biscuits

Ipomoea batatas, Convolvulaceae, Sweet Potato,...

Image via Wikipedia

I have had a huge response with friends and co-workers over this recipe. It was standard fare growing up. I assumed it was common place everywhere, much to my surprise it was not as common as I thought. So I felt the compelling need to share this. Just a little back story. This recipe has been handed down through my family for many generations. It has gone so long that we have no idea who started this tradition. But; I can tell you where I learned it, this recipe came from my Granny Betty (Voyles) it was taught to her by her mother and so on so forth. It is simple easy to make and the taste is other worldly. The sweet potatoes give the biscuits an ever so slight orange color and a sweet taste along with the sugar. The biscuits seem to the best when they are fresh out of the oven and are accented with a rather liberal helping of butter. Every time I eat on of these biscuits I have fond memories and I am taken back to my childhood, happy memories flood my mind of Granny getting up early and making each biscuit with care and love. After which we would go about our daily business knowing we had a full stomach and was prepared for whatever challenges we might face that day. Even after all these years it still amazes me that the flavor and texture of this biscuit is so good that melts in your mouth. I am not one to dedicate or get sentimental very often but I must say I have to give full and undivided credit for my love of cooking and these truly wonderful biscuits to my Granny Betty Voyles. She does not own a computer and has never surfed the web, doesn’t even know what that phrase means. But she has spent a lifetime helping others and serving the community we live in. She has mastered the art of southern cooking and at times added her own flare to classic recipes. She is a wonderful person who should not go without recognition and proper respect for unyielding venture to keep the family feed and always have a hot meal on the table.

SWEET POTATO BISCUITS

1 cup mashed sweet potato
1/4 cup oil
1/4 cup milk
1/2 cup sugar

mix all these ingredients together
Just a quick add in I forgot the times which should be around 35 minutes at 350 degrees, just remember to check the oven as this is a guideline and not a rule.

then slowly add
1 and 3/4 cups to 2 cups self rising flour

turn out mixture onto a floured surface, roll out, and cut

5 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Biscuits

Leave a comment